2015 Women's Volleyball
Record: 2-1 Home: 0-0 Away: 1-0 Neutral: 1-1 WHAC: 0-0
Eight Golden Eagles received WHAC honors.
Eight Golden Eagles received WHAC honors.
Volleyball - Fri, Nov. 9, 2012

The announcement was made earlier this afternoon for the 2012 Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference Volleyball Awards.  The Cornerstone volleyball team placed four players on the WHAC All-Conference team, a Libero of the Year, and one to the All-Freshman team.

Sophomore outside hitter Cailie Johnson represents the Golden Eagles on the WHAC All-Conference first team, while junior ride side hitter Becky Albrecht, outside hitter Abby Miedema, and junior setter Kim Weaver drew All-Conference Honorable Mention.  Additionally, Miedema was named the Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference Setter of the Year.  Freshman outside hitter Chelsea Lake represents the Golden Eagles on the WHAC All-Freshman team. 

In addition, senior outside hitter Megan April, senior defensive specialist Larissa Deshetsky, Miedema, and senior middle hitter Kate Zwier were tabbed to the Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference All-Academic Team.  Zwier also was honored on the Champions of Character Team.

The Golden Eagles finishing 23-9 and fourth in the WHAC regular-season, after going 8-3 in conference play, will enter the tournament today as the No. 4 seed to face University of Northern Ohio.

Click here to see full release.

2012 Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference Volleyball Award Winners

First Team All-Conference
Lindsey Adams, Siena Heights
Nastija Baranovska, Madonna
Stacey Catalano, Madonna
Nicole Chase, Davenport
Kasey Clark, Lawrence Tech
Kelsey Cox, Indiana Tech
Emilie Freeman, Madonna
Casey Gates, Northwestern Ohio
Lauren Maxwell, Northwestern Ohio
Kelse Moon, Davenport
Stacy Nagy, Indiana Tech
Evia Prieditis, Madonna
Ellie Sturgell, Aquinas

All-Conference Honorable Mention
Halie Baker, Siena Heights
Tiffany Brufladt, UM-Dearborn
Emily Crowell, Northwestern Ohio
Darcie Faylor, Indiana Tech
Samantha Geile, Madonna
Michi Jimenez, Lourdes
Katie McKenty, Lourdes
Kelsea Nova, Indiana Tech
Shannon Pietruszka, Concordia
Hannah Stone, Davenport  

All-Freshman Team
Breanna Geile, Madonna
Michi Jimenez, Lourdes
Katie McKenty, Lourdes
Sidney Rodriquez, Davenport
Carly Tillotson, Siena Heights

Champions of Character Team
Megan Gohl, Marygrove
Kelsey Haener, Lawrence Tech
Amelia Horton, Lourdes
Sabrina Lemmink, Northwestern Ohio
Emmileen Palka, Indiana Tech
Brittany Schmalzel, Concordia
Nastija Seremetjeva, Madonna
Rachel Sprenger, Aquinas
Emily Tjapkes, UM-Dearborn
Rebecca Wadsworth, Davenport

Player of the Year
Evia Prieditis, Madonna

Setter of the Year
Evia Prieditis, Madonna

Libero of the Year

Coach of the Year
Jerry Abraham, Madonna

Champions of Character Coach
Mike Gibson, UM-Dearborn

  • Today - Women's Volleyball vs Olivet Nazarene University - W 25-22,25-18,22-25,25-12
  • Yesterday - Women's Volleyball vs RVSaint Thomas University - W 25-20,25-19,25-14 - recap
  • Yesterday - Women's Volleyball vs 3Missouri Baptist University - L 25-13,25-21,25-18 - recap
  • Nov. 14 - Women's Volleyball vs Aquinas College - L 25-13,14-25,17-25,27-25,17-15 - recap
  • Nov. 8 - Women's Volleyball vs Concordia University - W 25-11,25-9,25-16 - recap
  • Nov. 8 - Women's Volleyball vs Indiana Tech - W 25-18,25-14,23-25,26-24 - recap
  • Nov. 5 - Women's Volleyball vs RVUniversity of Northwestern Ohio - W 25-19,29-27,23-25,23-25,15-13 - recap